Skip to main content

Management Area Locator

May contain: plot, map, diagram, and atlas
Santa Ynez River Valley Groundwater Basin (DWR Bulletin 118 Basin No. 3-105) and SGMA Management Area boundaries within the Basin

 Which Management Area am I in?

There are three Management Areas in the Santa Ynez River Groundwater Basin (Basin), the Western Management Area (WMA), Central Management Area (CMA), and Eastern Management Area (EMA). Each Management Area is governed by a Groundwater Sustainability Agency (GSA) with input from a GSA Committee. These GSAs and Committees are working together to develop Groundwater Sustainability Plans (GSPs) for the Basin which will be managed under a coordination agreement per GSP regulations. Enter your address in the search bar to see in which management area you live.

California's Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) requires the preparation and implementation of a GSP for each High and Medium priority groundwater basin in the state. The Santa Ynez River Valley Groundwater Basin is a medium priority basin with three coordinated GSPs submitted to DWR in January 2022 to manage the groundwater in the Basin.