Skip to main content


Which Management Area am I in?

There are three Management Areas in the Santa Ynez River Groundwater Basin (Basin), the Western Management Area (WMA), Central Management Area (CMA), and Eastern Management Area (EMA). Each Management Area is governed by a Groundwater Sustainability Agency (GSA) with input from a GSA Committee. These GSAs and Committees are working together to develop Groundwater Sustainability Plans (GSPs) for the Basin which will be managed under a coordination agreement per GSP regulations. Enter your address in the search bar to see in which management area you live.

California's Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) requires the preparation and implementation of a GSP for each High and Medium priority groundwater basin in the state. The Santa Ynez River Valley Groundwater Basin is a medium priority basin and must be managed under a GSP by January 31, 2022.

The primary purpose of this website is to facilitate communication with interested parties so they may participate in SGMA implementation, including development of a GSP.

SYRWCD: Coordinator for SGMA in the Santa Ynez River Groundwater Basin

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District (SYRWCD) has taken the lead for SGMA efforts in the Basin. As Coordinator for the three GSAs in this basin, SYRWCD is the main Basin contact for Department of Water Resources and secured a Proposition 1 Grant Award of $1 million and a Proposition 68 Grant Award of $296,000 to help fund the SGMA efforts in the Basin.

Prop 1 Water Bond logo
California Prop 68 Bond logo


For more SGMA information, please contact William (Bill) Buelow, PG


SGMA Process Diagram
Steps to the SGMA Process

Local Agencies working together to implement SGMA in the Santa Ynez River Groundwater Basin

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District (Basin Coordinator; CMA; EMA; WMA)

City of Solvang (EMA)

City of Buellton (CMA)

City of Lompoc (WMA)

County of Santa Barbara (CMA; EMA; WMA)

Mission Hills Community Services District (WMA)

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Improvement District No. 1 "ID No. 1" (EMA)

Vanderberg Village Community Services District (WMA)